loading page

The 2021 “Complex systems” Nobel prize:The climate, with and without geocomplexity
  • Shaun M. Lovejoy
Shaun M. Lovejoy
McGill University

Corresponding Author:lovejoy@physics.mcgill.ca

Author Profile


One half of this year’s Nobel Physics prize was awarded to statistical physicist Giorgio Parisi and the other - the first ever in geophysics - to climate scientists Syukoro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann, the former for pioneering General Circulation Models (GCMs) and the latter (primarily) for proposing a statistical model explaining the climate as a slowly varying state driven by random weather noise. However, the Nobel committee recognized climate laureates’ work almost exclusively from the 1960’s and 70’s. We update their report with the contributions from nonlinear geophysics and discuss the implications for the unity of geoscience.